skm: Rajewal Group Dissolves Skm’s 9-member Panel | Chandigarh News



Bathinda: Pointing towards further widening of the rift between farmer groups, the two warring factions are laying claim over the title of Sanyukt Kisan Morcha (SKM), the umbrella body which coordinated the over year-long protests against contentious farm laws at the borders of Delhi. The faction led by Balbir Singh Rajewal, who had also floated political front Sanyukt Samaj Morcha (SSM) to contest the Punjab assembly elections, has announced the dissolution of the nine-member coordination committee and called its next meeting at Lakhimpur Kheri on March 21. At Lakhimpur Kheir, the faction will decide on its plan of action on various issues, including minimum support price (MSP) of crops.
The other SKM faction comprising Rakesh Tikait, Hanan Mollah, Shiv Kumar Kakka, Joginder Yadav, Joginder Singh Ugrahan, Dr Darshan Pal, Jagjit Singh Dallewal and others claim that most groups which were part of the SKM are still with them and had distanced themselves from the electoral misadventure of SSM.
Both the groups had held separate meetings in Delhi on Monday.
Ugrahan said, “SKM is for undertaking a fight for the demands of farmers while SSM was formed for political purposes. Those who are part of the political front are not part of SKM, which will continue to discharge its duty with utmost devotion to get the demands of the farmers met. Our front has no political leanings and we are purely for the welfare of farmers and get their rights with agitations.”
Both SSM and SKM legal cell member Prem Singh Bangu, when contacted, told TOI, “We held the meeting at Gandhi Peace Foundation, the venue selected for the meeting of SKM, while the other faction left and had very few members. By passing a resolution, the nine-member coordination committee of the SKM. Now a meeting will be organised at Lakhimpur Kheri on March 21.”
The differences had emerged on December 25, 2021, when the SSM was formed and became more apparent when the SKM, in a meeting in Delhi on January 15, distanced itself from those into the political arena. The SSM drew a blank in the Punjab assembly elections, failing to win even a single seat in the state assembly.
The faction comprises Haryana-based farmer leader Gurnam Charuni and many factions from Punjab.


Source link